Wednesday, March 07, 2007

Yoga Sutras 1.6: Five kinds of thoughts to witness
(More discussion and graphics at this link)

1.6 The five varieties of thought patterns to witness are: 1) knowing correctly (pramana), 2) incorrect knowing (viparyaya), 3) fantasy or imagination (vikalpa), 4) the object of void-ness that is deep sleep (nidra), and 5) recollection or memory (smriti).
(pramana viparyaya vikalpa nidra smritayah)

pramana = real or valid cognition, right knowledge, valid proof, seeing clearly

viparyayah = unreal cognition, indiscrimination, perverse cognition, wrong knowledge, misconception, incorrect knowing, not seeing clearly

vikalpah = imagination, verbal misconception or delusion, fantasy, hallucination

nidra = deep sleep

smritayah = memory, remembering